Acadia University. Athenaeum Society

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Acadia University. Athenaeum Society

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



The Acadia University Athenaeum Society was established in 1860 by a group of students. The founding Chair was Charles E. Harris. At the second meeting of the Society, the following officers were elected: Maynard Parker Freeman (President), Joseph Freeman Kempton (Vice President), Samuel Bradford Kempton (Critic), John. E. P. Hopper (Corresponding Secretary), James Melbourne Parker (Recording Secretary), H. Harding Bligh (Treasurer). As stated in various early copies of the Constitution, “[t]he object of this Society shall be the improvement of its members in public speaking, in social advancement, and in general literature”. By 1895, the Society had added debating to their objective, and was thereafter alternatively known as the Athenaeum Debating Society. The 1935 Calendar states that the Athenaeum Society sponsored all inter-class, intercollegiate and other debates.

In 1874 the Athenaeum Society issued the first issue of the student publication, the Acadia Athenaeum.

The Athenaeum was predeceased by the Lyceum Society which was established in 1858 and dissolved in 1860.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Acadia University Archives

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC