DesBrisay Museum

Identity area



Authorized form of name

DesBrisay Museum

Parallel form(s) of name

Other form(s) of name


  • Regional

Contact area



Street address

130 Jubilee Road




Nova Scotia

Country name

Postal code

B4V 1H8







Research requests are done by appointment only; please fill out the Research Request form on our website and email to book an appointment.

Description area


The DesBrisay Museum began in 1860 as a collection of artifacts by Mather Byles DesBrisay, a young lawyer born in Chester, Lunenburg County, Nova Scotia in 1828, who later became M.L.A. and Judge of County Courts. By 1880, the collection had grown so much that it attracted attention from local citizens, students, and tourists. In 1901, following his death, DesBrisay’s wife, Ada, sold the collection to Bridgewater Mayor E.D. Davison, who presented it to the Town of Bridgewater. Between 1901 and 1966, the collection was relocated multiple times, finally settling in Bridgewater’s completed Centennial Project, and the Museum’s current home, on Jubilee Road.

Geographical and cultural context: Bridgewater spans the width of the LaHave River Valley and is the largest town in the South Shore region of Nova Scotia, priding itself as “the Main Street of the South Shore.” It has been long established as the primary commercial and professional service centre in the southern half of the province.
The DesBrisay Museum showcases the history of the Town of Bridgewater and the surrounding areas, including its inhabitants, industry, and architecture.

Geographical and cultural context

Mandates/Sources of authority

The mission of the DesBrisay Museum is “…to enrich our community by providing meaningful heritage, art, and culture experiences that build understanding, knowledge, and pride in our past and present ways of life.”

The mandate of the DesBrisay Museum is that the museum “…will contribute to this communal vision by undertaking professional research and by providing resources which enable the public to undertake their own research. The museum also collections, documents, and preserves records and artifacts that promote and conserve our local heritage while fostering strong relationships with community partners.”

Administrative structure

The museum is currently governed by a Commission of the Town of Bridgewater, and managed by the town’s Culture, Heritage, and Events Coordinator, as well as a Museum Administrator and Museum Developer.

Records management and collecting policies

The DesBrisay Museum collects materials that form part of, or that are directly related to, the natural and cultural heritage of Lunenburg County.



Finding aids, guides and publications

Explore our collection of artifacts:

Access area

Opening times

Tuesday to Friday, 9am-5pm
Saturday, 9am-5pm
With extended hours for special events.
Open year-round.
The Museum is closed on statutory holidays and school storm days.

Access conditions and requirements

Research requests are done by appointment only; see our website for details.


Wheelchair accessible. Sensory-friendly environment. Free parking lot parking available. Bridgewater Transit bus (18) stops in parking lot.

Services area

Research services

On-site Research Room available to consult material. Computer available in Research Room. Wi-fi available throughout museum. Research requests are done by appointment only; please fill out the Research Request form on our website and email to book an appointment.

Reproduction services

Public areas

The DesBrisay Museum showcases historical exhibits and local artwork in our gallery spaces. You can visit the museum for free year-round. Donations are kindly accepted. Additional fees may be associated with special events and specific programming.

Control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

Access points

Access Points

  • Clipboard

Primary contact

130 Jubilee Road
Bridgewater, Nova Scotia B4V 1H8