Edgehill Guild fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Edgehill Guild fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

Accession number: 1999.1; Boxes 25-28, 57-58

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

66 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The Edgehill Old Girls Guild was formed by Blanche L. Lefroy, lady principal of Edgehill Church School for Girls, in June 1901. Any female student who attended the school for two years and who left in good standing was eligible to join the guild. The motto was "Fideliter" which means "Faithfulness." In 1985 the Edgehill Guild, or as it was also known, the Edgehill Old Girls Association, and the Kings Old Boys Association amalgamated to form the King's-Edgehill School Alumni Association. The Edgehill Guild was run by a board that was composed of the following officers: president (was the principal of Edgehill School until 1959), and secretaries from Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the United States (later to be secretaries of circles), an editor of the magazine, and a general secretary (later called secretary-treasurer). Presidents were: Gena Smith (1917-1919), M.H. Roechling (1919-1946), Barbara Briggs (1947-1954), Jean O'Neill (1955-1958), S.E. MacDonald (1959-1962), Miss Fowler (1963), Frances E. Jost (1964-1965), Ruth Taylor (1966-1968), Elizabeth Wainwright (1968-1970), Marie Eaton (1971-1972), Marjorie Fountain (1973), Karen Mann (1974-1976), Pat Covert (1976-1978), Jane Ritcey (1979-1980), Janet Rowe (1981-1982), Carol Mosher (1983-1984), Joan Doehler (1985).

Custodial history

Custodial history is unknown.

Scope and content

Fonds consists of: Series - Minutes, Series - Records of the Secretary-Treasurer, Series - Edgehill Guild Newsletter

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Permission of Archivist is required to access some of the material as some material is restricted.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Box list is available.

Generated finding aid

Associated materials

See also the Edgehill School fonds, Edgehill Old Girls Association-Halifax Dartmouth Branch fonds, King's-Edgehill School Alumni Association fonds and the Montreal Edgehill Old Girls Association fonds.

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area


Accession area

Related people and organizations

Related genres