Halifax (N.S.: Metropolitan Authority)

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Halifax (N.S.: Metropolitan Authority)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1978 - 1996


The Metropolitan Authority was established under the provisions of Chapter 9 of the Statutes of Nova Scotia, 1978, as amended. The Metropolitan Authority was a successor to the Halifax-Dartmouth Regional Authority and continued to discharge the municipal responsibilities previously conferred upon it. However, it was composed of twelve members, broken down as follows: mayor and two aldermen from City of Halifax; mayor and two aldermen from City of Dartmouth; mayor and two councillors from the County of Halifax; mayor and one councillor from the Town of Bedford; and an independent chairman appointed every two years by members of the participating municipalities. In addition to dealing with waste management, correctional facilities, and parks and recreational facilities, the Metropolitan Authority also came to oversee Metro Transit.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

HRM Archives

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

Bibliography <p> <i>An Act Respecting the Metropolitan Authority of Halifax, Dartmouth and the Municipality of the County of Halifax. Statutes of Nova Scotia</i>. 1978. c. 9.

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places