Regional Planning Commission

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Regional Planning Commission

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Regional Planning Commission is known to have been active between 1964 and 1970. The nine member commission consisted of two council members from the City of Halifax, Dartmouth, and Halifax County, as well as one ratepayer from each of the aforementioned municipalities. The commission received funding from each of the municipalities as well as the provincial government. Working with a Technical Advisory Committee of municipal planners, the commission received and considered plans for building and development in all three municipalities. After considering the plans in light of their regional implications, the commission then advised the relevant Council of whether it approved or disapproved of each plan. The Commission was replaced by the Metropolitan Area Planning Committee.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places